

Working in partnership with Eastbourne Homes

# **Special Full Council**

Minutes of meeting held in Shackleton Hall, Welcome Building, Devonshire Quarter, Eastbourne BN21 4JN on 31 January 2022 at 6.00 pm.

#### Present:

Councillor Pat Rodohan (Mayor).

Councillors Helen Burton (Deputy Mayor), Josh Babarinde, Margaret Bannister, Colin Belsey, Penny di Cara, Sammy Choudhury, Jonathan Dow, Stephen Holt, Jane Lamb, Paul Metcalfe, Md. Harun Miah, Jim Murray, Kshama Shore, Alan Shuttleworth, Robert Smart, Colin Swansborough, Barry Taylor, David Tutt and Candy Vaughan.

#### Officers in attendance:

Simon Russell (Head of Democratic Services), Robert Cottrill (Chief Executive) and Sarah Lawrence (Senior Committee Officer).

## 50 Notification of apologies for absence.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Diplock, Freebody, Maxted and Whippy.

### 51 Honorary Alderman - John Joseph Ungar

The following motion was proposed by Councillor Shuttleworth and seconded by Councillor Belsey:

"That the Council exercises its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972 and confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **John Joseph Ungar**, who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 7 May 1991 to 27 March 1998 and from 9 May 2011 until his retirement on 7 May 2019."

Councillor Babarinde also spoke in support of the motion.

**Resolved:** (Unanimously) That the motion be approved.

### 52 Honorary Alderman - Sandie Howlett

The following motion was proposed by Councillor Belsey and seconded by Councillor Tutt:

"That the Council exercises its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972 and confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Sandie Howlett**, who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a

member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 7 May 2002 until her retirement on 11 May 2015."

Councillor Bannister also spoke in support of the motion.

**Resolved:** (Unanimously) That the motion be approved.

## 53 Date of Next Meeting

It was noted that the next scheduled meeting of the Full Council would be held on 23 February 2022.

The meeting ended at 6.55 pm

Councillor Pat Rodohan (Mayor)